Books and films and stuff

I haven’t posted much recently (on blog anyway – am always on Twitter) but I’ve been busy taking Ashtanga yoga classes, reading books and watching a load of films ( a real love of mine). This evening I’ve finished Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin. I’d seen the film several years ago but a friend read the book recently and recommended it. It’s frankly terrifying and it’s worth reading the book even if you have seen the film – Polanski’s film is wonderful but from reading the book, you’ll see that Mia Farrow was perfect for the role. Amazing to think Ira Levin wrote three of the most fascinating studies of modern America in the mid-late 20th Century: Rosemary’s Baby, Stepford Wives and The Boys from Brazil. I have the latter on kindle which I’m now going to read – Chuck Palahnuik’s introductions are excellent too.
Also tonight I watched the film Jeff, Who Lives at Home – Jason Segel and the phenomenal Susan Sarandon – what’s not to love? I really enjoyed this film – more than just a lame stoner comedy. I’m now watching classic British horror The Night Of The Demon (1957) thanks to a ‘British Connections’ season by Digital/cable film channel Film4. Its a fabulously creepy British Cult/Satanist horror. Worth checking out.

Thoughts, musings, ruminations?

